photo via simple gifts farm

“Mission is when we use our lives to make a difference in the life of someone who’s not here. Community is when we use our life to make a difference in the life of someone who is here.” – Pastor Bill Clem

These words are so true. Sometimes I live in the future of all the people I will help someday and forget to be present  with the believers God has surrounded me with now. I forget that I need help now.

 This week was my wake-up call. For the first time in a long time the past threatened to crush me with its pain, but God in His grace intervened in roomie confessions and chat over cinnamon tea with a friend to remind me that I don’t have to hide. The result was transparency on my part came to healing, because I shared my doubts and fears with them they were able to apply the gospel directly to my situation. Which aided in me in taking down idols trying to rule my life. I don’t even want to think of where I would be spiritually at this moment if I hadn’t turned to outside help for my sin.

I’ve felt much more at peace since these conversations. This morning in a before sunrise jog  with a brave buddy my heart gushed with thankfulness for honest God-driven community. In the best kind of workout we talked more than we jogged. On the road back to the warm house my partner and I shared recent struggles in our imperfect lives. Although we are not perfect I can’t help, but take joy in the fact that our struggles our proof that we are being made to be perfect and we don’t have to get there alone.

Due to a lot of holiday travel I missed worship at my home church four weeks in a row. I can’t wait to be back this Sunday to worship with the community that has become my family and be changed to be more like Christ together.

See you Monday friends. -b

