Tags

, , , , ,

Well I have to admit it has been pretty hard for me to get things done around the house, even without the hassle of an 8-5 job. Yesterday afternoon I applied for three jobs and revamped my resume. I thought these were good accomplishments for a day well done. Nick, my husband, was playing basketball with a group of guys until late. I took this opportunity to watch two movies.
When Nick arrived home he wasn’t too happy that his wifey had done nothing for the good of the “team”, no grocery shopping (we have no food), no cleaning the kitchen (you can’t see the cabinets, because of all the dishes), no putting away the laundry (that he washed). I apologized and he accepted admitting that he was mostly just hungry. I had let him down. I had plenty of opportunities during the day to do even one of those tasks, but I didn’t do not one. I don’t know how other wives can keep a home, it’s so tiresome. Nick’s disappointment kind of bothered me, but after all women don”t become housewives over night. However determined to do better this morning I tried to will myself to get started. Nothing. I read some cute sayings on Pinterest on motivation. No movement. I finally read a few short verses in my Bible and said a short prayer for motivation. I made myself get up and started to put away the dishes. It was hard to do it right then, because I had no plans for the day. I knew I could do the chore anytime.”Well it won’t be hard to get up tomorrow,” I thought still working. “I have to meet with people tomorrow.”

Then God does what He is good at and revealed deep sin in my heart. “Brooke, you don’t get out of bed to serve me, you get out of bed to serve other people. That’s what you live for, others.” Ouch. This probably doesn’t seem like such a bad thing to some of you, but if I’m getting out of bed for people (the creation) and not God (the creator) we have a problem. It’s called idol worship and its clearly spelled out in Romans 1:25 “because they exchanged the truth about God for a lie and worshiped and served the creature rather than the Creator, who is blessed forever! Amen.” If people are what I get up for in the morning, no wonder I have been so down. A lot of people depended on me at my former job.  Two Fridays ago when my boss let me know I was no longer needed, it crushed me. Of course these people NEEDED me.God took away this destructiveness in my life. People don’t need me, they need the savior. Having people as my point to living is a very small god to serve because no people=no motivation. I have lived for too long completely dependent on something other than God to save me from laziness. That’s why the “what’s next” question has been so hard to answer. I needed not only a job, but a group of people who were completely dependent on me to get out of bed.

Yes, I know what you are thinking shouldn’t you be trying to earn your husband’s approval? I don’t. I never have. That’s why it is amazing to me he wanted to marry me in the first place.It’s possible that God in His mercy has saved me from making Nick an idol so he can see for how I really am and point me back to Christ.

If we truly worship the God of the Bible He should be our motivation in everything we do. The Proverbs 31 woman is a good example of this. How does she do it ALL with joy? Don’t see these verses as a checklist as I did. These verses are an illustration of how our lives as God-fearing women can look. How fulfilling a life centered around God can be. She serves as unto the Lord. (Ephesians 6:7). In our strength we accomplish nothing. In His strength we can accomplish all He puts in front of us.

love -b
